happiness unlimited

Through the day I receive many messages, mostly on positive thinking. When you talk about positive thinking, your attitude towards life is the core theme. There is a common thought in many of these messages, especially when they are about relationships, “Let go the person so that you will be in peace”. Reading lot of such messages set me thinking about what they are trying to convey exactly.

To avoid pain, various methods are propagated. The wide range includes workshops on life, meditation, spiritual discourses, diverting mind towards other areas of interest, thinking about our blessings and ponder on what we have.

I want to talk about a teacher whom I like immensely. During a discussion on life, he said, “Life is positive. I will give you an example, when a child dies the mother who goes into heart breaking sorrow will be seen dancing after six months,” The example that he used to convey positivity shook all of us in the class badly. None of us could digest what he said. We were not in the usual mood for a chat after the class. This was the only thought that occupied my mind even at home. I had many questions like how he could be so rude, what kind of an example was that or were his words a reflection of his problems. I did not get answers for any of these. As I was going through this repeatedly, suddenly a face flashed in my memory. It is the face of my aunt who lost her son sometime back. She is an epitome of love. All of us looked forward to her visits because she pampered us to no end. We were worried that the sorrow of losing her son will kill her. Though it did not kill her, it took a long time for her to come back to life. She did come back to her routines and started living again.

I understood what my teacher was trying to convey. Life has its own way of curing pain. Whether we take any extraordinary effort or not, by default life compels us to live. Forgetting pain and moving forward is in human nature and there cannot be a better example than what my teacher gave.

Life is a mixture of pleasure and pain. It does not make any sense to take great effort to avoid pain. I find it disagreeable when people advice to avoid relationships to avoid pain. Pain finds a path in this world to reach you as does happiness. Living life king size is facing challenges and winning them.

As a teenager, one quote attracted me very much; “Life is such a serious business, it is better to laugh it off.”

6 thoughts on “happiness unlimited

  1. You have put positivity in life from a different perspective.
    Life itself offers us that. The one who refuses to flow with it is negative. So accept whatever happens and keep going. Celebrating sadness is suicidal. I feel from what you have written we should learn to enjoy our pains too.
    Thought provoking writing! Kudos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

